Carrie Mae Weems

2013-10-25-CMW08.028HouseFieldYardKitchenQuadHR-thumb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m a long-time admirer of photographer Carrie Mae Weems, but until last month, I’d only seen her work on the web.  Luckily, Standford’s Cantor Art Museum has a wonderful retrospective exhibit of her work.  Hazel, Jamie and I toured the exhibit a couple Fridays ago. It was gratifying and inspiring to finally see her photographs in person. I’ve always loved the way Weems combines photography and narrative. Not surprisingly, one of my favorite projects was her “Louisiana Project.”  I was also really moved by her series, “From Here I Saw What Happened and I Cried.” Click here to listen to her being interviewed.

la5

FHISWHAIC2

FHISWHAIC3

One thought on “Carrie Mae Weems

Leave a Reply

