Carolina Chocolate Drops

I’ve been at the desk all day and it’s time for a break, so I thought I’d check in on a band I like to see if they’d put out anything new. Sure ‘nough, they have.  If you haven’t heard of the Carolina Chocolate Drops you’re in for a treat.  I’ve been a fan of this band since I heard their 2010 cover of Blue Cantrell’s “Hit ‘Em Up Style.”  Black folks playing Bluegrass?  What’s that all about?  But that’s exactly why I love the them–they’re exactly where most folks don’t expect them to be. Actually, their music is “a modern take on a traditional sound,” as their website says, with a nod to the African-American music tradition from jug bands to blues and jazz.  Their lead singer is a classically trained opera singer.  Click here to listen to their interview with Terry Gross on Fresh Air. And by all means, enjoy their latest song.  I’m listening now.

Leave a Reply

