My Second Home

I made this little slideshow to remind myself of one of my favorite places:  Southern Louisiana. The friends, the food, the scenery–I love it all. With each passing day, my heart opens a little wider.  Since I can’t get down there as much as I’d like, this slideshow is the next best thing.  Every time I watch it, my spirits lift.  “Grinding” is how cane farmers refer to the sugar cane harvest, which starts in October and ends in late December.  It’s a beautiful time of year–mild temperatures with a hint of crispness, clear skies, and a whole lot of green fields. During grinding, farmers work around the clock–or close to it. A lot of the photos were taken during grinding or during the planting season which happens right before. A few were taken right during Mardi Gras.  If you haven’t been to Southern Louisiana, I highly recommend you carve out some time to visit.  But I warn you, spend a few days and you’ll be hooked.

(Click the arrows in the bottom right corner if you want a full screen view)

Leave a Reply

