Welcome!

Hello and welcome to my new blog!

I’ve been thinking about starting another blog for a while, but decided I should pour every ounce of creative energy into finishing my novel, QUEEN SUGAR. For better of worse, I can only take on one big creative project at a time.  But now that the book is finished and has found a home, it’s my pleasure to do a bit of blogging.

I thought I’d start this blog for a couple of reasons:  First,  I occasionally have thoughts or ideas that I think are worth sharing. I say occasionally, because it’s not my intent to bore you with every minor or mundane event that occurs in my day. We all lead busy lives after all, and the last thing any of us needs is to be bombarded with more minutia. But these are idea that feel too large to note on a scrap of paper and too small to work out in a personal essay or short story. A blog post strikes me as the perfect form, and I hope you will find them relevant.  Second, and most important, in the two weeks that have passed since selling my novel, I’ve experienced at tremendous outpouring of warmth and support from friends–some writers, some not–that really touched me. Folks are really, truly, happy for me.  Many of you have cheered from the sidelines for eleven years, always ready to offer a kind word.  Others have had a direct hand in helping me cross the finish line. You’ve made introductions, let me stay in your homes, read versions of the manuscript, sent books on writing or sugarcane, and even talked me back from the edge when I doubted myself. You’ve been the best friends a girl could ask for, and I am eternally grateful. Others of you I’ve only met in passing–in a rug store or on the outskirts of an old plantation–in the course of working on the book, and although we were strangers, you were excited to hear about my work and asked to stay in touch.

Indeed, the best part, the sweetest part of selling my first novel has been sharing the experience with friends and family. There’s still work to be done–another round of revision, I’m sure, and of course, the next book to start thinking about! But I wanted create a place where we could celebrate what’s happened so far and look forward, together, to what will happen next.

And if, somehow, you come across this blog and we haven’t met, Welcome!  Come on in, pull up a chair, and make yourself comfortable.  I can’t predict what will happen down the road, but I promise it’ll be an adventure.

Leave a Reply

